Join   |   Login   |   View Cart   |   Check Out   |   Order Status   |  
NEW BB SHOP          Home          About Us          Administration          Resources          News          Contact Us         

About Malaysia - National Flag

Jalur Gemilang
The national flag of Malaysia consists of 14 horizontal red and white stripes (along the fly) of equal width, representing the equal membership in the federation of the 13 component States Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Malacca, Negri Sembilan, Pahang, Pulau Pinang, Perak, Perlis, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor and Terengganu and the Federal Government. The union or canton of dark blue in the upper quarter next to the staff and extending down to the top of the fifth stripe stands for the unity of the peoples of Malaysia. The union contains a crescent which is the symbol of Islam. The 14 points of the star are emblematic of the unity of the 13 States and the Federal Government. The yellow of the crescent and the star is the royal colour of Their Royal Highnesses the Rulers.

The Amorial Ensign (or National Ensign)
The 14-point star represents the equal membership of the 13 States, (the 14th point represents the Federal Government) while the star and crescent form the traditional symbol of Islam. The five krisis represent the five former Unfederated Malay States (Johor, Kedah Perlis, Kelantan and Trengganu). The left-hand division of the shield represents the State of Penang and the right-hand section, showing the Malacca Tree, the State of Malacca. In the four equal-sized panels in the centre. the colours black and white are the colours of Pahang. red and yellow are the colours of Selangor; black, white and yellow are the colours of Perak. red, black and yellow are those of Negri Sembilan. These four States formed the original Federated Malay States. The three sections below represent the States of Sabah on the left, and Sarawak on the right. The centre contains the National Flower, the Bunga Raya (hibiscus). The tigers depicted as supporters in the Arms of the former Federated Malay States are retained. The motto in romanised script on the left and Jawi script on the right-Bersekutu Bertambah Mutu-is the Malay equivalent of 'Unity is Strength'. The yellow colour of the scroll is the Royal colour of Their Royal Highnesses the Rulers.


About Malaysia - National Emblem

The National Emblem of Malaysia (Jata Negara in Malay), or the Coat of Arms of Malaysia, comprises five major elements: a shield (as the escutcheon), two tigers (as supporters), a yellow crescent and a yellow 14-pointed star (as the crest or helm), and a banner (as the motto). As the Malaysian emblem descended from the coat of arms of the Federated Malay States (FMS) during British colonial rule, the current design of the Malaysian arms bears numerous elements of Western heraldry.

The National Emblem of Malaysia consists of a shield guarded by two supporters as rampant tigers. The shield is topped by a crest or helm consisting of a yellow crescent with a 14-pointed "federal star", and includes a motto, depicted as a banner, at the bottom.

Crest or helm (crescent and federal star)
The yellow colour of the crest or helm, a crescent and a 14-pointed federal star, symbolises the country's monarchy. The crescent also represents Islam as the official religion while the federal star represents the thirteen states and the Federal Territories of Malaysia. Originally, the fourteen-pointed star represented the original fourteen states of Malaysia, which included Singapore. It was not changed when Singapore left the federation, but it has generally been accepted that the 14th point represents the Federal Territories.

Escutcheon (shield)
The escutcheon, represented by a shield, is primarily intended to serve as a representation of states unified under the Malaysian federation, and is subdivided into ten divisions. The upper portion of the shield is entirely occupied by a single red field containing five krises, which represent the five former Unfederated Malay States, namely Johore, Terengganu, Kelantan, Kedah and Perlis. In the middle of the shield, below the row of krises, are 4 coloured divisions in red, black, white and yellow fields that symbolise the Federated Malay States. The permutations of the colours red, black, white and yellow make up the colors of these states' flags. Red, black and yellow are for Negeri Sembilan; black and white for Pahang; black, white and yellow for Perak; and red and yellow for Selangor. The remaining divisions contain insignias of the four remaining states. The Pinang palm along with the Penang Bridge on the left represents Penang while the "Malacca" tree on the right of the shield identifies Malacca. At the three center divisions of the shield's bottom, Sabah's coat of arms is included to the left while Sarawak's coat of arms is included to the right. The hibiscus flower between the coats of arms of Sabah and Sarawak is the national flower of Malaysia.

Supporters (tigers)
The two rampant tigers supporting the shield are traditional Malay symbols. They are retained from the earlier armorial ensign of the Federation of Malaya, and prior to that of the Federated Malay States. They symbolise strength and courage.

Motto (banner)
The motto of the arms, located below the shield, consists of a banner with the phrase "Unity is Strength" (Bersekutu Bertambah Mutu) written in both romanized Malay and Jawi. The original English words were replaced by Jawi some time after independence.

  About Malaysia - National Anthem

Negaraku, Tanah Tumpahnya Darahku

Rakyat Hidup, Bersatu dan Maju

Rahmat Bahagia, Tuhan Kurniakan

Raja Kita, Selamat Bertakhta

Rahmat Bahagia, Tuhan Kurniakan

Raja Kita, Selamat Bertakhta

About Malaysia - National Flower

The five-petaled Bunga raya (Hibiscus Rosa-Sinensis) has been Malaysia?? national flower since 1960. Symbolically, the five petals of the bunga raya represent the ??ive Principles of Nationhood????Malaysia?? national philosophy in strengthening national unity and tolerance -- while the red colour represents courage. The flower can be found throughout the country and parts of the Bunga raya?? shrub have medicinal and cosmetic uses.